There has been a pub on the site of the present day Porcupine since 1725. Back then Charing Cross Road hadn’t been built and the pub would have been located on Castle Street. According to the Guide to Real Ale in London WC1 and WC2, the Lodge of Confidence freemasons used to meet there between 1807 and 1829.
The present dates from around 1880 and would have been built shortly after the Metropolitan Board of Works built Charing Cross Road in the 1870s.
The pub is split over two levels with a bar downstairs and a dining room and bar upstairs. The semi-circle shaped downstairs is relatively small with a bar taking up the rear of the room. Behind the bar is some interesting tiling. If it gets too busy inside there is a small amount of seating outside the pub.
As the pub is owned by Nicholson’s you can expect to find up to six real ales including the permanent beers Fullers London Pride and Sharp’s Doom Bar. The other guest beers usually feature breweries such as Thornbridge, Caledonian and Brains.
More Photos of the Porcupine
48 Charing Cross Road
Tel: 020 7379 9855
Ads by Google