Brief History and Interior
The three storey grade-II listed building is located on the corner of Friargate and Orchard Street in the centre of Preston. Built in 1898, and designed originally to be a hotel, the red-brick building was the tallest building in Preston.
Built for the Atlas Brewery in Manchester, the pub has two entrances in use, one on Friargate, the other on Orchard Street. The Friargate entrance features a Black Horse Hotel mosaic leading to a corridor with two rooms either side that would have once been smoke rooms. To the rear is a u-shaped seating area with toilets either side. According to the Heritage Pubs website, this was a ‘Market Room’ between 1898 and 1929.
Halfway along the corridor is an entrance to the public bar which is also directly accessible from the Orchard Street entrance. The entrance from the corridor wasn’t added until c1995. The public bar features a rare semi-circular green and cream ceramic counter with wooden top. It is one of only 11 left in the country. The others are listed on the Heritage Pubs website and you can view one of them – the Golden Cross in Cardiff – on the Beer Lens website.
Being owned by the Robinsons Brewery there’s a full selection of their beers available including Cumbrian XB, Double Hop, Dizzy Blonde, Unicorn, 1892 and the excellent, but dangerously strong, Old Tom.
More Photos of the Black Horse
The Black Horse
Tel: 01772 204855
Ads by Google