The present Grade-II listed building dates from 1897 and was designed by Francis Chambers for the Cannon Brewery. The Heritage Pubs website, which features more information about the pub, dates the ground floor to a 1930s makeover. It is likely that at this time the pub would have lost its traditional partitions that would have been found in Victorian pubs.
According to the Nicholson’s website, there was a pub Asa far back as the 18th century and claim that the a pub was first built on the site of the Duke of Monmouth’s house in 1734.
The very small, but very exquisite interior features extensive glazed wall tiling along with some large mirrors promoting long forgotten tobacco and mineral water brands.
One end of the dimly lit pub features the small bar and very limited seating and the other some more comfortable seating along with a fireplace.
Due to its diminutive size, and it’s location in the heart of Soho, you can expect the pub to easily get busy.
As with all Nicholson’s pubs, a good range of beers are available including their core range of Fullers London Pride, Sharp’s Doom Bar and their own Nicholson’s Pale Ale (brewed by Sharp’s). Up to four guest beers are also available.
More Photos of the Dog and Duck
Dog and Duck
18 Bateman Street
Tel: 020 7494 0697
Ads by Google