The two storey pub is owned by Hertford’s McMullen Brewery and according to the pub’s website, there has been a tavern on the site since around 1750, although the present building dates to 1898.
It was then known as The Cantons (the name still remains on top of the pub) and during the 20th century was known as The George and 13 Cantons, the Scots Hoose and then became the Spice of Life in 1986 when the pub was purchased by McMullen’s.
The ground floor is split into a bar and more comfortable lounge are complete with comfortable sofas. A backstage bar to the rear offers regular live music.
Food is available all day and an extensive menu includes small dishes such as mini Cumberland sausages and a ‘cup of fish’ (whitebait and mackerel).
Up to four McMullen beers are available including AK, Country Bitter and IPA.
More Photos of the Spice of Life
Ads by Google