The pub is housed in what was once the Mission Hall which was built in 1930 by the Grassmarket Mission (photo), an nondenominational organisation located next door in what is today Biddy Mulligans. The aim of the Mission was to provide support in the form of food, clothing and fellowship for the numerous poor people living in the area. The Mission Hall featured an up-to-date kitchen, a clothing department and flats upstairs and was officially opened in November, 1930.
Location and Interior
Attached to the much more capacious Biddy Mulligan’s pub on Edinburgh’s popular Grassmarket, The Wee Pub can either be accessed via an internal entrance or via the Wee Pub’s official entrance on Currie’s Close, a passageway so small that it doesn’t feature on Google Maps.
The single room, with its capacity for around 20 punters, is very basically decorated with original flooring, exposed bricks and side paneling made from old floorboards and the cushions from snooker tables. The fireplace is not an original feature and with the chimney long bricked up, it’s purely used for decorative purposes. At the rear of the pub is a small serving area which cleverly hides the keg taps behind one of the cupboard doors. Also at the rear is the main entrance to the pub which takes you out into Currie’s Close and back onto Grassmarket.
The front of the pub features large windows which open to ventilate the pub and the there is also a small front beer garden.
The beers in The Wee Pub are limited to just Guinness, Magner’s and Tennant’s but it’s easy, and necessary during quiet periods, to pop next door to Biddy’s to get a better selection. As well as the usual macro beers such as Stella, Tennant’s and Guinness they also serve Decuhar’s IPA, William’s Brothers Joker IPA and their own Biddy’s Ale.
More Photos of The Wee Pub
The Wee Pub
Tel: 0131 220 1246
Ads by Google